new member looking for an RS3 8p

• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

tommy354

tommy354

• Valued Member
  • PipPip
  • 167 posts

hi there I'm a newbie to the forum, don't own an RS3 yet but been and looked at a couple and I'm just wondering if anyone could share some advise on what to look for at a viewing. i have currently been and looked at 2 cars as I'm quite fussy on what spec i want. The only thing is the two i have been and looked at when i got there and viewed the car the seller has told me they have had new engines one at a price of £6k one at a price of £9k both cars needing new engines due to running too much power and not being able to handle it, is this common?? Both cars were advertised as standard but when i got there i soon realised they were modified and mapped, which is fair enough I'm just a bit worried about buying a modified one after looking at these two and them having engine issues.

Im just looking for advise on what to look for when viewing as in anything specific, i have been doing a bit of research and see that there is "Audi updates" that should be done to things like brakes but to be quite honest I'm clueless when it comes to these cars coming from a vauxhall.

appreciate any advise you could share TIA 

tom

this is a pic of my current car "the disastra"

Attached File  IMG_2584.JPG   110.15K   13 downloads

JayRS3

JayRS3

Elite Club Member

• Valued Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,767 posts
  • LocationKent
Hi Tom

Very few standard RS3s out there these days, including myself. The problem is there such a tuneable engine which can produce eye watering numbers which makes them an affordable supercar.

It depends if the previous owners were true enthusiasts or the moment they encountered an issue jump ship and run.